Fasting.

Home, Thoughts

I have been fasting the month of Ramadan since I was about 5 years old. Fasting has taught me perseverance, patience, sharing, how to get through all of life’s situations without food or water, etc. I can barely remember the years when I did not fast and looking back on the times when I was a little kid mad at my parents for making me fast and begging them to break it, I am able to reflect on why my parents started me so early in the first place. Fasting from a young age instilled some very important values in me that I thank my parents for everyday. Also, if I would have started fasting later in my life, I would have had such a hard time adjusting to it. Fasting is all about abstaining from our humanly desires from sunrise to sunset to prove to ourselves that we can live without all of our extra accommodations. We consider these accommodations, necessities during any other time of the year. As Ramadan is coming to an end, I decided to write about my love for the month and what I have learned after all these years.

Thanks for reading!

Much Love,

Asma Elgouz

 

Photo Credit: Google

Leave a Reply

